My Book

So guys, I have been absent for a little bit due to a few things going on, however i finally feel ready to share chapter 1 of my book.

I am putting this out there to get an honest opinion and your thoughts so feel free to comment. This is just one chapter of many that has been written so please read but do not steal.

Thank you so much for reading and giving any feedback.

Chapter 1

Slowly I raise the coffee cup to my lips and take a long satisfying slug, I let a small groan leave my lips.

 

“ I have waited all day for that “ Nia exclaims.

 

I take another gulp and swill the delightful taste of pure caffeine around my taste buds.

 

“That’s better, I’m human again, so Anna, how’s your day been?” Nia asks her friend.

 

“It’s been good, you know the usual, work, lunch, clients then the best part of my day was when this guy walked into the office, he was so hot … “

 

“Anna you think everyone is hot” Nia cuts her friend off mid sentence, she has heard this all before, Anna isn’t the type of girl who settles down, she enjoys looking and the odd times, touching, but never the same person twice.

 

“I do not!” Anna replies angrily, ”If you had seen him you would understand”

 

Nia smiles at her friend and looks at the world around her through the large window dotted with fingerprints. People are laughing and smiling, she notices a young couple across the street hand in had, deep in conversation. The man smiles at the woman, she smiles back, Nia can see the amount of love they have for each other and sighs.

 

“Do you ever wonder about falling in love?” Nia asks Anna, she was thinking aloud really but she knew Anna would have an answer.

 

“No, I don’t love is for stupid people who live their life with their heart on their sleeve, forever crying and being depressed because he didn’t pick out the right chocolates or flowers. It’s better to pick your own and just have fun”

 

Anna’s reply wasn’t what she expected, but she should have known her happy go lucky friend hated romance. She on the other hand hated the idea of living her life alone. When she was 10 years old she planned her wedding down to the smallest details. She had drawn dress designs, floral arrangements and spent hours in the jewelry store picking out the perfect ring. However as she got older she started to wonder if her perfect wedding and romance fantasy would be just that, a fantasy.

 

She lowers her cup until it makes a small clink on the table, making her drag her eyes away from the window. She shakes her head and opens her laptop, flexing her fingers and bringing them to the keyboard, she begins to write.

 

“What are you writing?” Anna asks, Nia flinches, she has had been so wrapped up in her thoughts and fantasy world, she had totally forgotten Anna was there.

 

“Oh, erm I was just … errr writing my resignation letter”

 

“Wait you didn’t tell me you had a new job, where is it? What is it? … “ Anna gushes.

 

“ Woah slow down, I don’t have a new job, but I need to put this letter in before the end of term, if I don’t I cant leave at the end of the year.”

 

“That’s brave Nia, your leaving your job without another one to go to, are you sure this is a good idea? I mean cant you hold off a while and actually have a job to go to?”

 

“Anna I need to do this, I cannot live my life stuck in the same routine. I love my job, I love the kids I teach, but I love me too and to stay here in the same job, same life, same routine, it’s not me. I want adventure, I want love and romance, I want my fantasy and its pretty obvious it isn’t coming to find me so I need to go find it, but I cant do that here”.

 

Nia had thought of this for a long time, but only now felt she had the courage and confidence to pursue it. She longed to travel the world, to meet new people and have a book full of memories. She would take travel and memories any day over a regular income. She smiled at her friend, frown lines etched on her beautiful face.

 

Anna was 5 ft 6 inches with long blonde hair skimming across her back. She had deep blue eyes, they reminded Nia of the colour the sea turned when the hot sun hit it with its rays. At just 25 years old she had both travelled and set up a career for herself is interion design.

 

Nia on the other hand was the total opposite of her friend, she was 5 ft 8 with long brown hair and deep muddy brown eyes. At 24 she had never been in love, never travelled, was still a virgin and had carved a path in the world as a teacher.

 

They where opposite, but somehow they had managed to remain friends through high school and collage. When each went to different universities they kept in touch, they both believed their friendship would last a lifetime.

 

Nia looked up from her laptop.

 

“Hey Anna, could you read this for me, I don’t know if I am happy with it yet”

 

“Sure”

 

Anna spent a long time reading the few shot lines of the letter, a frown passed over her face.

 

“Nia, are you sure this is what you want? Have you thought about this? It’s a big step and once you have handed in the letter, that’s it, no going back”

 

“I’m positive” Nia says with a huge smile on her face.

 

Two days later Nia finds herself licking the envelope holding her resignation letter and slowly writing ‘Louisa Smith’ on the front in her best handwriting. She makes her way to the principles office and knocks; she waits taking deep breaths to slow down her breathing.

 

“Come in” says a shrill voice from behind the large oak wooden door.

 

Nia enters the large room; there is a large wooden desk in the middle. The wood is dark, oak maybe. There is an array of different items littering the desk, a large lamp sits on the right hand side along with piles of paper and books. There is a large window to the right, which overlooks the parking lot and the large football field. To the left of the desk is a coat stand; there hangs one coat and an umbrella.

 

“Anna would not be happy with this room” she thinks silently as her eyes take in the remainder of the room.

 

The walls are littered with books. Each wall has its own bookcase, which reaches from floor to ceiling. The books are mainly dark green and black in colour, however there are a few titles Nia recognizes. The back wall holds framed certificates, degrees and Masters all framed in black. A cap and gown hangs from the wall, its dark blue adding to the dark hue of colour this room appears to emit. There are no pictures of family of children; the office looks impersonal, just like the woman behind the desk.

 

“Hi, Miss Smith, do you have a few moments” Nia says diverting her eyes back to the woman behind the desk.

 

“Yes of course Nia, come in, take a seat.”

 

Nia eyes up the letter in her hand ‘can I really do this?’ silent thoughts of backtracking and running back to the sanctuary of her classroom circle around her head.

 

She brushes away all thoughts of escaping and running away and slowly hands the letter across the big wooden desk.

 

Miss smith takes the letter and slowly opens it, she spends a long time reading the letter. Nia takes this opportunity to scrutinize the woman in front of her. Miss Smith is in her late fifties; her once blonde hair is now sporting more gray than blonde. Her green eyes remind Nia of a cat she had growing up, there are feint lines starting to appear under her eyes, her crows feet are becoming a more permanent feature. She wears a long skirt and a white blouse, which is buttoned all the way up to the neck. She has a blazer on over her blouse, which matches the colour of her black skirt. Her hair is taken back into a tight bun at the back of her head.

 

Nia smiles as Miss Smith finally looks up laying her green cat like eyes on Nia.

 

“Nia, is this for real? Are you joking?’

 

“No, I’m not, its something I have spent a long time thinking about, I love my job, but I need to be me for a while”

 

“You do know if I accept this, there is no going back?”

 

“Yes, I do”

 

“And there is nothing I can do to make you change your mind, bigger classroom, a pay rise maybe?”

 

“No Miss Smith, my mind is made up, I want to do this, I want to see what is out there beyond the boundaries of this small city”

 

“Well then, we will be sad to see you go, but it appears your mind has been made up. When will you be leaving?”

 

Nia looks away from the face of her principle and looks to the window, was she sure about this? She had come this far, could she really do this? Nia looks back to the face she has come to know well over the last few years, and smiles.

 

“ As soon as possible” Nia smiles

 

“ Ok, well technically you only need to give a half terms notice so you can leave in six weeks”

 

Six weeks! Was she really ready for this? She had to be, there was no going back, in six weeks time she would be free.

 

“Thank you Miss Smith, I really do mean every word written in the letter, I have really enjoyed my time here and I do love the teachers and students whose paths I have crossed.”

 

Miss smith rises from her chair; Nia stand up and they shake hands. Nia turns and leaves the room; she closes the door and collapses on a bench positioned outside the door.

“It’s about time “she whispered to herself.

Leave a Reply

